How to Delete Google Maps History?

All of us use Google Maps very frequently these days. Weather it is for travelling and finding a destination or it is locating a place to eat nearby. Sometimes we also type in a wrong location by mistake.

But all these searches are saved by Google until we practically take charge of it and remove it.

how to delete google maps history

There are a number of pros and cons of having the location history turned on for your device. The pros start with receiving search results based on your location which are known as targeted search results.

These are relevant to your location and you do not have to type in your location every time.

The cons are that if you do not want your data to be seen or stolen in case of any data breach in future or even if you do not want anyone to access your location history then you surely would want to remove your location history.

In this article we have listed all the options starting from deleting your Google Maps History to turning off the location history and even automatically deleting it.

You can implement the one that suits your needs. This article is a complete guide for managing the Google Maps History.

How to Delete Google Maps History?

There are a number of ways to manage the Google Maps History. Lets take a look at them one at a time.

1. Steps to Delete Location History

Follow the steps below to completely delete your location history from Android devices.

  • Open “Google Maps” Application on your Phone. Make sure you are signed in with your Google Account.
  • Choose Menu. Then scroll down and click on “Settings”.
google maps settings
  • Scroll down and select “Maps history”.
  • Click on the three dots on the top right corner. Choose “Delete Activity by”.
delete google location history
  • Four options will appear. Now choose “Always”. Confirm by clicking on “Delete”. This will delete all your activity till your present time.
delete all maps activity

2. Steps to Delete Specific Places from your Location History.

  • Open “Google Maps” Application on your Phone. Make sure you are signed in with your Google Account.
  • Choose Menu. Then scroll down and click on “Settings”.
  • Scroll down and select “Maps history”.
  • Maps Activity page will open. Now scroll down and you will find all the activity listed and the latest activity on the top.
delete location history item
  • Click on the three dots right next to the activity you want to delete. Now select delete. Confirm your request by clicking on “Delete” again.
delete one item

Your selected activity is now deleted and will not appear in the location history.

3. Steps to Automatically delete your Location History

  • Open “Google Maps” Application on your Phone. Make sure you are signed in with your Google Account.
  • Choose Menu. Then scroll down and click on “Settings”.
  • Scroll down and select “Maps history”.
  • Click on the three dots on the top right corner. Choose “Delete Activity by”.
  • Select “Set up Automatic Deletions”. A new window will appear with three options. You will have two options to set up the automatic deletions.
  • The first option is the “Keep for 18 months” and then delete automatically and the second one is the “Keep for 3 months” and then delete automatically.
automatically delete location history

Note:

  • The minimum duration to automatically delete location history is 3 months. Till then your location history is stored for providing a better experience to you.

4. Steps to Turn Off Location History

When a user Turn Off the location History then from that moment no further information relating to location is collected by Google.

activity controls
  • To Turn Off Location History click right next to “Location History”.
  • A confirmation window will appear displaying “Pause Location History”. Click on “Pause”.
pause location history

In this way you can pause/turn off your location history. You can also Turn it On the same way by repeating the same steps.

Note:

  • Turning Off the Location History will not delete the previous location history. Users have to do it manually.
  • Even turning off the location history does not changes the settings for Find My Device and Google Location Services.

Conclusion

We hope you found the article useful on How to Delete your Google Maps History and Manage it.

We have not only discussed the steps to delete it but we have also given in detail the steps to automatically delete it, delete specific item and Turn Off location history.

If you have any queries related to this topic you can write back to us from the comment section below. We would love to get your feedback and views on it. You can also subscribe to our newsletter to stay updated.

Related Articles.